Journey of Faith

All things are possible through Christ

Blogging 101: My dream audience

on January 9, 2015

I don’t know that I really have a dream audience. I have so many experiences I could share that could help others. One of my goals in starting this blog is to get my story out. When I was hurting and needing encouragement, I turned to blogs and books to find hope.

I suppose that the first thought that comes to my mind, when asked that question is to be an encouragement to women who are suffering from infertility, miscarriage and pregnancy loss.

As I mentioned briefly earlier, my husband and I went through 4 years of this. I got pregnant a few short months after we were married only to find out we had lost the baby before we even had our initial doctors visit. The second time I became pregnant a few months later and the outcome was roughly the same. Getting pregnant, then became my obsession. I read every book I could find and website. I learned everything I could. I changed my diet, exercised and did anything else I thought would help.

My world turned into nothing but days on a calendar. My life revolved around ovulation days and days after ovulation, and how soon I could take a pregnancy test. The highs and lows came often and were either really high or really low.

We began infertility treatment with an RE. My first test results were not the best. My hormone levels were high for my age and I was told that it would be unlikely for me to conceive on my own without meds. We tried a few cycles with just clomid but that did not work. We then moved on to an IU.

Our first attempt was successful, I got pregnant, but six weeks later, I was in the hospital with a tubal pregnancy and internal bleeding, having emergency surgery. I lost one of my tubes as well as the baby. That was the point my world came crashing down. I thought, “If I had such a hard time getting pregnant with two tubes, how on earth would I get pregnant with just one?”

We tried IUI two more times, and I became pregnant both times, but lost the baby early on. In all 5 pregnancies, we never made it to the ultrasound to see the heartbeat.

After number five, I gave up. I stopped trying and just decided that my life could not revolve around this anymore. I was losing myself and my marriage was suffering.

You already know that there is a happy ending to this story. I did go on to have 3 wonderful boys in a period of 5 years.

I hope you don’t think that I am saying, that I ended up having children because  I quit trying. I could not stand that when people told me that. My children are all miracles and I am so grateful for them.

The doctor’s don’t always have all the answers.

Leave a Reply

